How to generate breakthrough insights and drive impact
A conference for insights leaders

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

The Better Why Conference

 

October 7th, 2021

8-11am PDT   |   11am-2pm EDT   |   4-7pm BST

Welcome

Jessica DeVlieger
Global CEO, C Space

Keynote

Duke Stump
Founder, Bonfire with Soul

Panel 1

A Leading Edge Through Insights

Panel 2

Better Results Through Better Relationships

Fireside Chat

Diane Hessan, Founder, C Space & Meghan Maupin, Founder and CEO, Atolla

Impact Awards

Winners announced live

Conference
8am PDT  l  11am EDT  l  4pm BST

 

Welcome

Jessica DeVlieger

Global CEO, C Space

Jessica is the Global CEO for C Space, the Customer Agency. In her role, Jessica focused on helping clients navigate the exponential pace of change with customers as their North Star; and creating an engaged workforce with a shared purpose of making business more human.

Read more

C Space is a part of the Interbrand Group of Companies and has a client list that includes 36 companies from the Fortune 100; as well as an impressive list of early-stage businesses. Prior to taking on the Global CEO role, Jessica was the President of the Americas where she oversaw consistent growth and helped introduce a range of new services including Customer Strategy and C Space’s proprietary Customer Experience Code.

Earlier in her career, Jessica held a variety of roles in the media and marketing space, including a 5-year stint working for Harpo Production, Oprah Winfrey’s production organization. In her role at Harpo, Jessica built and led the development team and was responsible for helping the Oprah Show evolve from a talk-show format to more experiential programming including the famous “Your Get a Car” show as well as trips to the Oscars, the Oprah & Gayle Road Trip and rebuilding after Hurricane Katrina.

Jessica is a board member for Positive Tracks, a youth empowerment organization that combines philanthropy with athletics to get kids active in both, and she is a member of the Executive Committee for the Boston Chamber of Commerce.

Watch Jessica DeVlieger’s opening remarks at the 2020 Better Why Conference, as well as keynotes from Wharton Professor and Identity Theorist Americus Reed II, and Tom Fishburne, The Marketoonist.

Conference
8:15am PDT  l  11:15am EDT  l  4:15pm BST

 

Keynote

Duke Stump

Founder, Bonfire with Soul

One of Forbes Top 50 Game Changing CMOs, Duke Stump’s visionary approach has helped build iconic brands that connect with their customers for life, including NIKE and lululemon.

Read more

In this powerful keynote address, Duke will share his perspective on why humanity and soul must be at the heart of every business, in order to build a better brand and a better world.

Learn more about Duke and his journey that led to Bonfire with Soul.

Conference: Panel 1
9am PDT  l  12pm EDT  l  5pm BST

 

A Leading Edge Through Insights

Hear from leaders using insights to make an impact and drive change for their companies and customers.
The right insights can supercharge any business. Uncovering those insights, however, is a challenge that requires foresight, agility and integration. Find out how top executives have developed game-changing insights to transform their companies and better serve their customers in an ever-evolving and ever-more-connected landscape.

Key takeaways

  • Anticipating customer needs.
  • Embracing an agile and integrated approach.
  • Harnessing data and revealing human truths.
  • Delivering strategies and solutions at speed.

Viktor Olivemark

Global Insights Manager at Ikea

Kirsten Lewis

Director, User Research, Experience Design, Product Development at Sonos

Nick Coates

Ph.D. Director, CX

Conference: Panel 2
9:45am PDT  l  12:45pm EDT  l  5:45pm BST

 

Better Results Through Better Relationships

Relationships matter. For every business. At every level. Building strong connections internally and externally is something that leading companies have in common. In this panel, we will explore how building empathy and bringing more voices to the conversation result in better insights and greater impact.

Key takeaways

  • Unleashing the power of collaboration.
  • Bringing in more voices and perspectives.
  • Maximizing relationships to unlock opportunities.
  • Building empathy and driving change.

Jenna Landi

Head of Brand Insights, Pinterest

Edwin Wong

SVP Insights and Innovation, Vox Media

Manila Austin

Ph.D. VP, Research

Conference: Fireside Chat
10:20am PDT  l  1:20pm EDT  l  6:20pm BST

 

What does it mean to build a more human business?

Self-care and customization are the two biggest buzzwords of the moment, and data has a reputation for being extractive, so how can brands use data in service of the customer, rather than to commodify the customer? How can data build deeper relationships, build trust, reduce churn, and extend lifetime value?

Atolla is a new algorithm-based skin-care brand that’s taking the beauty category by storm – bringing customized serums to the masses, offering a simplified, custom skincare system with custom products and virtual guidance. Built on trust, transparency and added value, the bespoke beauty brand was founded by CEO, founder (and MIT graduate) Meghan Maupin and recently acquired by Function of Beauty.

This discussion between Diane Hessan and Megan will cover how technological innovation in combination with customer data and insight has led to a deeper relationship with customers and commercial growth.

Meghan Maupin

Founder and CEO, Atolla

Diane Hessan

Founder, C Space

The Better Why Impact Awards

Celebrating the teams who are transforming customer insight into strategic advantage

 

Nominations have closed for The Better Why Impact awards. Award submissions are now being reviewed by the judges, and winners will be notified by September 30th. Tune in live to The Better Why Conference on Thursday, October 7th to see the winners announced, and learn who will receive The Better Impact Award for all-around excellence in insights. If you have questions related to the status of your award submissions, please contact us.

Meet your judges

Karin Jørgensen

Director, Head of Brand, Shopper and GTM Center of Excellence, The LEGO Group

Kevin Taylor

Global Head of Brand and Consumer Insights, Google

Paul Logue

SVP and Global Head of Insights, SAP

Jolan Simpson

Marketing, Research, and Technology SVP, Truist 

Estrella Lopez Brea

Head of Insights for the Europe and Australia Region, General Mills 

Whitney Dunlap

Founder, Insights in Color

Award Categories

FUTURE-BACK AWARD
Staying ahead of the customer

Award will be given to a program that has used foresight to get ahead of changing customer expectation and has led to impact on business or customer outcomes.

AGILITY IN INSIGHTS AWARD
Working at the speed of the customer

Award will be given to an insights program that flexed with rapidly changing customer needs to enable rapid decision making aligned to customer outcomes. The program must have had an impact on business outcomes.

INSIGHTS INCLUSIVITY AWARD
Leading Change for Better Business

Award will be given to an insights program that has had a measurable impact on either organizational (internal) or customer (external) inclusivity practices. The program must have had an impact on inclusivity outcomes.

CUSTOMER-RELATIONSHIP AWARD
Do you truly ‘get’ your customer?

Award will be given to a project or program that combines insight and relationship design to drive a customer-centric outcome. The program must have had an impact on customer or company.

BEST-OF BETTER WHY
THE BETTER IMPACT AWARD
Championing the customer as a true disruptive force for business

Award will be given to an organization in which growth can be directly attributed to insights, customer experience or customer relationship design programs. Must have had an impact on growth metrics, for example, revenue, or customer lifetime value.

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH